The European Union will invest further €10 million in projects to promote student and staff mobility in Africa under the Intra-Africa Academic Mobility Scheme. The Second Call for proposals, has a deadline for submission of applications on 30th April, 2019. 
African Trans-Regional Cooperation through Academic mobility (ACADEMY) is part of the 
Intra-Africa Academic Mobility Scheme that promotes the exchange among higher institutions in various African nations to aid in concretizing and infusing knowledge and culture exchange through staff and students’ mobility all over Africa. It seeks to address pertinent issues such as job shortage, environmental sustainability, gender equality, poverty, and improved quality of higher education. 
The ACADEMY project is designed to provide resources and opportunities for student and staff mobility from four regions of Africa, offering support for Masters, Doctoral and short research, teaching and administrative visits between the consortium partners. 
Further details about the Intra Africa Academic Mobility Scheme can be found at the EACEA website: 
Coordinated by the Université de Tlemcen, and financed by the European commission under the Intra-Africa Academic Mobility Scheme, the project ACADEMY gathers four other African Higher education institutions namely; University of Cape Coast (Ghana), Kenyatta University (Kenya), University of Ibadan (Nigeria), and University of KwaZulu-Natal (South Africa), as well as a European technical partner, namely Universidad do Porto (Portugal), in addition to two associate partners; Ministère de l’Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche Scientifique (Algeria) and the Pan African University for Water and Energy Sciences (Algeria). 
ACADEMY contributes to the promotion of cross-regional continental integration, sustainable and inclusive development. It intends to create an open Platform as a key instrument for innovation, knowledge sharing and dissemination of good practices within the participating institutions. 
ACADEMY will focus on the mobility of students, academic and administrative staff between the partner universities, as well as all the other universities across the African continent. 
ACADEMY encourages creating and sustaining Communities of Practice by students, academic and administrative staff, as well as developing opportunities for mutual learning, intercultural understanding, and exchange of know-how and best practices. 
ACADEMY comes to address the challenges of the African continent that arise from the rapid increase in the number of students, the need for improving the quality of higher education, shortage in job creation and brain drain, gender equality, environmental sustainability and poverty.

Eligible areas of study

• Business, administration and law; 
• Natural sciences; 
• Information and Communication Technologies; 
• Engineering, manufacturing and construction; 
• Agriculture, forestry, fisheries and veterinary. 
Please note that the field of study will be taken into consideration in the selection process 
together with other factors such as application’s grade, balance between institutions, gender 
and other cross-cutting issues, etc.

The African Trans-Regional Cooperation through Academic Mobility (ACADEMY) Programme will offer 55 mobility opportunities for this call as follows:

1) 38 at Master’s level,
2) 5 at Doctorate level
3) 12 staff mobility opportunities.

The available scholarships are:

Credit-seeking mobility: 6 months 
Applicants must be enrolled in a Master programme at one African Higher Education Institution.

• PhD 
Credit-seeking mobility: 6 months 
Applicants must be enrolled in a Doctorate programme at one African Higher Education Institution. 

 Academic and Administrative Staff 
Mobility: 1 month 
Applicants must be working in one of the five partner universities.

The Scholarship covers: 
• Monthly subsistence allowance for the entire mobility period.
• Settling in allowance (for students only). 
• Roundtrip flight ticket and visa costs. 
• Comprehensive insurance (Health, Accident and Travel) (arranged by the coordinating institution on behalf of students).

The information website can be found on:
The list of courses can also be found on:
The number of the (55) available scholarships offered are found on:


Dr. Richard Makhanu Wafula
Dean School of Humanities & Social Sciences

Go to Top